PDA

View Full Version : Looking for some NOS advice

fsugatorbait
04-24-2003, 03:04 PM
Im new to NOS, but am very interested in running a 50 shot. Ive read through all these posts and it seems that I would have no problem with this setup on stock internals and wouldnt have to retard the timing. Only thing that I would need would be to change out the plugs and get a A/F gauge if the kit doesnt come with one.
My questions are what kits are out there, particularly which ones did you guys go with and how do you like them compared to others that you've had since it seems that most of you have had a kit in the past on other cars? Where did you get the kit? How much would I be looking to spend for kit/install? I prefer to do my own mods on my car so would this be something that I would be able to handle? Anyother info I should be aware of please let me know. Thanks in advance for your help.
Phil

smokincivic
04-24-2003, 03:13 PM
I'd recommend the NX E.F.I. kit with Gen X2 upgrade. All can be had brand new on ebay for about $800, I have had this on two vehicles and it is great. I would recommend that you stray away from ZEX and other dry systems of the like. NOS makes a god wet kit for imports as well but I have no experience with them so I can't comment. To run a safe 50 shot all you would really need is the kit and some plugs, I have the NGK bkr7e

fsugatorbait
04-24-2003, 03:29 PM
Thanks for the heads up...as far as install goes, would this be something that I would be able to do myself. Im fairly automotive inclined, and have done almost all of my own mods so far on this car. What would be required for the install?

smokincivic
04-24-2003, 03:39 PM
The install isnt that bad, I did it myself the first time and it went pretty smooth. DO NOT rush the install jsut to get it on the road, worst mistake you will ever make. No really crazy special tools are needed, the only tough part for me was the wiring, how good are you at electronics, and do you have a multimeter?