PDA

View Full Version : More Spring Install Advice Requested

NamingException
06-20-2003, 06:18 AM
I'm picking up some Pro Kits from a local shop later today. I am planning on doing the install myself tomorrow. I'm a little nervous about it since I've never done it before, but I really want to do as much of my own work as possible on this car. I'm planning on doing it without air tools. Is this stupid? Should I wait until I can borrow a compressor from someone?

If I go for it, I'll take a bunch of pictures and try to write up another DIY. Can't hurt to have another one around.

andy
06-20-2003, 06:45 AM
Air tools make it a lot easier...
I was with some guys who did it on an '02 Impreza - with
four guys, it took about 4+ hours (this was just with
regular tools).

You'll still need a mechanical compressor (I really don't know how
to describe it, basically a clamp that holds the springs in place
that you tighten), or whatever it's called. Oh, and some free
time.

If you go at it alone, just be careful (make sure you jack it up
proper). Good luck!

NamingException
06-20-2003, 08:03 AM
Well, nevermind. They just called to tell me that they won't have them until Monday, which means I won't be able to install them for two more weeks since I am busy next weekend. I would have just ordered them online and saved a couple of bucks if they hadn't told me they would have them today. I'm sorta pissed off.

idrive
06-20-2003, 10:38 AM
ionno where you're located...
but here in the bay... kragens has spring compressors you can borrow for free... you just need to give them a deposit...
no its not stupid to do it w/o air tools

here is a really good how-to on a spring install... very detailed and with lots and lots of pictures... the install is not no an EP... but once you get reading, you'll the general idea is right there.

http://www.7thgencivic.com/forums/showthread.php?threadid=86545

hope its helpful

DynaSpeed
06-20-2003, 12:30 PM