PDA

View Full Version : stick shift question...

pLopSI
06-29-2003, 07:47 PM
Yea yea... it's another stick shift question. Im rather new to driving a stick, n' I was jus wondering if it's okay to skip gears when upshifting?

pLopSI
06-29-2003, 08:06 PM
c'mon guys... a little help for a fellow ephatch :angel: :(

Mugen_EP
06-29-2003, 08:09 PM
Yes its ok...

VBSI
06-29-2003, 08:10 PM
Just remember to push in the clutch-and don't try reverse while moving forward.

bryan
06-29-2003, 08:16 PM
I rarely use 4th

Civicvtec1ps
06-29-2003, 08:17 PM
you will be fine..

staticflo
06-29-2003, 09:15 PM
should double clutching be used when doing this, or is it ok to just press down the clutch and go from 3rd to 5th for example.........sorry im a noob to stick driving also......

jbarket
06-29-2003, 09:18 PM
Double clutching is overrated. Anyone who tells you otherwise has seen "the movie" too many times.

You should be just fine shifting from 3->5 just like any other gear.

Personally, I actually try and use 4th, but most people on here seem to skip it.

Civicvtec1ps
06-29-2003, 09:19 PM
i use 4th gear like normal people..

JLannoo
06-29-2003, 09:20 PM
Originally posted by staticflo
is it ok to just press down the clutch and go from 3rd to 5th for example

yes

BlackNRedSi
06-29-2003, 10:33 PM
yeah, and try not to upshift your car too high in the rpms...like if your cruzin in 5th, and your slowing down, dont shift into 3rd and rev your rpms...

i think its called shift breaking, it will slow you down, but will fuk up your tranny in the mean time....

pLopSI
06-29-2003, 11:04 PM
sweet, thanx for the help guys. btw, do u guys skip gears cause ur too lazy to shift through all the gears or is jus so that there'll be less stress on the engines?

Sooky
06-29-2003, 11:14 PM
Originally posted by staticflo
should double clutching be used when doing this, or is it ok to just press down the clutch and go from 3rd to 5th for example.........sorry im a noob to stick driving also......