PDA

View Full Version : Jesus Christ!!!!!

SpeedRacer
08-30-2002, 10:31 PM
fuck i tried changing my oil today and it took me 4 fucking hours. Yes im not a mechanic but i know how to change oil. first of all i couldnt find the damn filter(1hr) then i couldnt get the nut off to get the oil out i had to go buy tools then finally got it off(!hr) and the worst part of all i go to auto zone by a filter remover and when i get back it sucks and it wont work so i go back and buy 3 more filter removers(im returning all of them) and none of these bastards work and this damn filter is on tighter then hell anyways after 2 hours of trying to get this damn thing off about to give up i finally get it to budge(thank goodness) and i put my mobil 1 filter on with my mobil 1 5w-30 syn. anyways this is the longest damn oil change in the history of cars.

MPgrunt81
08-30-2002, 10:35 PM
Maybe you could help the rest of us learn from your experience. Where's the filter located? What, if any, filter remover works. Tips? Tricks? Things to watch out for?

Cone Killer
08-30-2002, 10:49 PM
Originally posted by MPgrunt81
Maybe you could help the rest of us learn from your experience. Where's the filter located? What, if any, filter remover works. Tips? Tricks? Things to watch out for?

The reason the tools won't work with the factory filter is because it's smaller than normal and just used for the breakin period.

It's located on the passenger side between the engine and the fire wall. I had to take off the passenger wheel and pull back the plastic lining to get at it.

And remember...when the tools don't work, just stick a screw driver in the filter and use that for leverage. That's what I had to do with the first filter.

1fastminivan
08-31-2002, 01:52 AM
Damn is it always going to be that tight? I didnt want to put a screwdriver in it so I waited and took it to the dealer and had them change it. I want to change the second one myself but it was hard as #@$^ and I was getting frustrated.