PDA

View Full Version : The truth about tire psi?

02TafWhtSi
09-05-2002, 06:33 PM
Can anyone explain to me how lower or higher tire pressures affect a car? For instance, how is gas mileage affected? Handling? Safety (blowouts)? Ride quality? Steering feel?

I've gotten alot of different information on this subject over the years so I'm a little confused. Any info would be great!
:)

xlr8
09-05-2002, 06:37 PM
im not an expert, but what i do know is that lower pressure will decrease your gas milage because lower pressure will give you a better contact patch. thats better for a launch, but i dont know about handling

chunky
09-05-2002, 09:00 PM
good question.

tire pressures affect a lot about your car, gas mileage, traction, ridequality, handling balance.

in general, here are the rules that apply:

1) lower tire psi increases contact patch for better traction. the tradeoff is reduced grip & predictability during cornering due to increased sidewall roll over.

2) Lower tire pressures cause more internal heat in the tire. Underinflation is BAD anytime you will be driving at highway speeds for an extended period of time.

3) Higher tire pressures reduce contact patch. the overall rolling tire daimeter increases slightly, so you get better gas mileage.

4) higher tire pressures help increase grip during cornering by preventing sidewall roll over. More pressure means that the sidewalls have more support, and are less likely to roll over.

5) higher tire pressures help reduce internal heat buildup in a tire during high speed driving (note in the 2002 si's owner's manual, a higher tire psi is specified for high speed driving).

6) higher tire pressures reduce contact patch resulting in less grip in most cases (in some cases, higher psi increases grip, see #4)

7) generally, you want higher psi up front than in the rear on a FWD car. this helps the car rotate and helps reduce the amount of inherent understeer that most fwd cars have.

JDM Whore
09-05-2002, 10:08 PM