PDA

View Full Version : which is harder to install front or rear springs?

4g63dsm
10-30-2003, 03:00 PM
hey i'm plannin on instaling my tein stech this weekend and i'm not sure what kind of grease i need? also which is hard to install the front or the rear? THis is my first time doing any suspension work, but i'm not a total newb when it comes to working on cars.( installed my cai and exhaust, and worked on my old dsm)but is this even a good idea to do it myself? i've been reading alot about the diy and thinkin i have a good idea of what to do. has anyone else ran ito any major troubles doing this install?

02SilverSiHB
10-30-2003, 03:27 PM
I use white lithium grease for mine. I get it from autozone, it comes in a green spray can.

The install is basically easy. Last time I did it, I didn't even remove the tie rod. I just broke the center nuts on all four shocks loose while the car is on the ground.

Then for the fronts I took out the bottom two bolts to the rotor (also the two lines 12mm and 10mm screws). Then I just unbolted the three nuts that hold it up to the frame. Then let come down and hold it there while I unscrewed the top center nut and the top part came off...there's not that much tension, so I didn't really need the compressor for the springs. Then I just took the spring out, replaced it with the aftermarket one. The when I went to put the center nut on, I had to push a little to get the spring to compress so I could thread the center nut on. That's was basically it for the fronts, put everything back together and was done.