PDA

View Full Version : First post! Anybody got a Hondata? And more...

MolonLabe
11-25-2003, 11:46 AM
Hey all, I recently bought an 02 Si and started lurking on clubsi.com. Made my first post there and they promptly told me to come here, so I did. I like ephatch better even though it gets less traffic. Been lurking pretty heavily for a few days now, just reading and gathering info. I'm now thoroughly confused on the intake situation, that's for sure. Comptech's icebox looks good but you pay for it, boy talk about limited availability and nothing on the secondary market! And its difficult for me to understand how an intake tract made of plastic wouldn't conduct heat, but I'm not an engineer after all. The exhaust situtation is also somewhat confusing, although I haven't played all the files on that EXCELLENT sticky post yet! I wish I had decibel ratings for the cat-backs because I want a deep throaty sound, but not loud enough to be annoying during daily driving (I drive for at least two hours each day).

My question is, does anyone here have a Hondata? Expensive little buggers aren't they? Seems like everyone talks about Hondata with hushed reverence, but I haven't read any reviews or seen any hard numbers on the dyno except for older versions of the Si, which is a whole different ball game since we have the 2.0 iVTEC and all.

Also, I'm constantly looking for links to good vendors. I'm heavily involved in the online firearms community and I've found that there are a few vendors that make the rest look really silly in terms of pricing. Are there any "must have" links you guys could provide?

02SilverSiHB
11-25-2003, 12:23 PM
JSIR on here said he lost power with the cai from comptech compared to the cai he had before, but he did some modification and I think he was pleased. myeverlovinsir and a few others have hondata and love it.
Sounds like the greddy would be your choice. I've heard that exhaust and it is deep and not too loud.