PDA

View Full Version : Putting an end to Spring Rumor

Zero Three Si
12-21-2003, 10:24 PM
For any of you guys that are going to install your own springs, you DON'T need a spring compressor. You also don't need a tie rod puller.

It's a fairly easy install. Just time consuming. The fronts will take you about an hour and a half. The rears will take you about a 1/2 hour.

Hold up your brake rotors and calipers up with a spair jack stand.

SiRman
12-21-2003, 10:28 PM
Are you suggesting compressing the strut with another jack while it is still bolted to the tower? I'm no expert mechanic but sounds dangerous to me.

bobdobbs
12-21-2003, 10:38 PM
There's lots of ways to skin a cat, 03. How did you R&R the springs?

oldschoolimport
12-21-2003, 10:39 PM
what I do is take off the strut rod nut while the tires are still on and the car is on the ground, and then just jack the car up off the spring. done this a half dozen times with no accidents. the tire keeps the LCA from coming off a stand or jack, and the spring will not be free enough to move until it is free from preload pressure. the home style spring compressors with the fingers and the big bolt between them seems more dangerous to me. I'll do all mine like this, everyone has their own method.

Zero Three Si
12-21-2003, 10:39 PM
Originally posted by SiRman
Are you suggesting compressing the strut with another jack while it is still bolted to the tower? I'm no expert mechanic but sounds dangerous to me.

That's what all the "weekend warrior mechanic" guys at work told me. I watched the mechanic every step of the way while he installed mine. The thing jumped MAYBE 2 inches if that. You take the whole tower out and just loosen the top bolt holding it in. Spring pretty much makes a small jerk and then you can pull her right out.

SiRman
12-21-2003, 10:44 PM
Interesting.

Zero Three Si
12-21-2003, 11:00 PM
Originally posted by oldschoolimport