PDA

View Full Version : What is so good about a full coilover suspention?

Rey
12-24-2003, 10:59 PM
I am a newb when it comes to suspention. I know if you drop your car via springs or coil overs you where out your shocks.

With a full coilover suspention your shocks don't wear out???

I am totally confused here. Is it worth the 600+ dollars for it???:confusem: :confusem: :confusem: :confusem: :confusem: :confusem:

C1V1C
12-25-2003, 12:35 AM
He he, I was the same as you, but I read a lot and figured out something. So please let anyone know if I am right or wrong.

Aftermarket Spring + Stock Shock = You'll have shorter spring, but your shocks do not travel like it supposed to (shorter distance). It may bottom out if you hit something deep.

Coilover = mostly it is only a compressed spring in a sleeve and the shock goes into this sleeve, so same thing as aftermarket spring, but you can adjust the height of the vehicle.

Full Coilover = you have a new shock with a better setup of spring, which you can adjust. so the shock is design according to that spring, of course this will work a lot better, especially in the long run.

also, you may need to consider the damping factor of the shock and the spring length and stiffness. These variables will affect the frequency of the wheel going up and down.

that's what I learn so far. (I do not have a teacher, just read here) hehehe :)

Peking
12-25-2003, 11:21 AM
Originally posted by C1V1C

1)Aftermarket Spring + Stock Shock = You'll have shorter spring, but your shocks do not travel like it supposed to (shorter distance). It may bottom out if you hit something deep.

2)Coilover = mostly it is only a compressed spring in a sleeve and the shock goes into this sleeve, so same thing as aftermarket spring, but you can adjust the height of the vehicle.