PDA

View Full Version : Brake Job?

Lucid Moments
12-29-2003, 05:27 PM
OK guys, looking for future help here. I got SS brake lines for christmas, and just ordered slotted cadmium plated rotors, axxis ultimate pads and ATE Super Blue brake fluid from brakezone to go with them. Sherwin sd they are running behind right now so it will be about 10 days before they ship. I have never worked on brakes before, and since they are a kind of important to safety they are not something I want to screw around with. Should I try to do this change out myself?
Anybody local with experience working on brakes willing to help me? (Chunky I hear you have had some recent experience :rolleyes: , or Scott, or anybody else)

Thanks in advance for any and all help or advice.

Zero Three Si
12-29-2003, 07:19 PM
Changing the rotors and pads are a breeze. I've never put brake lines in though. I know you'll need to bleed your brakes, I've done it on a motorcycle with someone experienced and it didn't seem to hard.

When bleeding the brakes, you'll need to people though.

chunky
12-29-2003, 08:33 PM
Originally posted by mlkelley68
OK guys, looking for future help here. I got SS brake lines for christmas, and just ordered slotted cadmium plated rotors, axxis ultimate pads and ATE Super Blue brake fluid from brakezone to go with them. Sherwin sd they are running behind right now so it will be about 10 days before they ship. I have never worked on brakes before, and since they are a kind of important to safety they are not something I want to screw around with. Should I try to do this change out myself?
Anybody local with experience working on brakes willing to help me? (Chunky I hear you have had some recent experience :rolleyes: , or Scott, or anybody else)

Thanks in advance for any and all help or advice.

I'm down to help you. brakes are cake. the lines will be the hardest part. hope you got a lot of the super blue, b/c you're gonna have to totally bleed the entire system.