PDA

View Full Version : coilover questions?

kenichi600
09-24-2002, 12:08 PM
sup all,

Don't have an EP yet but waiting for my insurance $$$ cuz my bike got totalled... =(
I'm new to this whole tuner scene but had a few questions in regards to coilovers. Do coilover kits retain the stock shock/strut or replace it or does it depend on which kit you buy? In particular I was looking at the Tein SS kit; I've also heard mixed comments about Tein stuff in regards to rust or lack of rust protection... I'm up here in the NW (Seattle 2b specific) so don't want anything that would rust out after a year or so. Any information provided would be great.

Thanks,
kenichi600

yomamaInMySi
09-24-2002, 12:44 PM
You can get coil overs in two forms, the cheappy way and the some what expensive way. The cheappy way is just springs with an adjustable perch and all of its components, the some what expensive way is what they call the full body coilover, which includes the entire shock, spring seats, springs etc. In my opinion I think the full body coil overs are better than just the springs coil overs. But that's my two cents on this issue. If you lower your car with the springs coil over (the cheappy kind), then more likely you'll ruined your shocks sooner than later, the full body coil over's shock is design for the purpose of lowering your car over two inches. There are alos different variations of the full body coil over, such as ajustable height (obviously since is a coil over), but also the damp or rebound adjustment. You'll probably pay top money for a set of coil overs that gives you both ride height and dampness/rebound ajustability.

greenguy
09-24-2002, 02:42 PM
If your car is just a dailt driver (i.e no racing or serious autoX) then buy some yellow Koni's and your favorite brand of lowering springs and you'll be happy:D.
If your situation is different then yes, a full coilover with all the rebound damping and fiftymillion different adjustments available are your best bet.