PDA

View Full Version : Suggested Shift Points?

sibaroochi
09-25-2002, 09:54 AM
I'm new to driving manual and I'm still trying to get the hang of driving my Si. I know there's no set shift points but how do you all shift when:

1) starting from a standstill and trying to smoke someone at the light

2) just cruising around town and wanting to save gas

Also, I heard that downshifting during high speeds can help brake the car instead of you using the brake pedals. How does that work exactly? And what does "ratios" mean?

Thanks,
Siby
p.s. I haven't had good acceleration nor gas mileage with my Si and it could be that I'm not shifting at the right times

SBC31
09-25-2002, 10:16 AM
Originally posted by sibaroochi
I heard that downshifting during high speeds can help brake the car instead of you using the brake pedals.
I'm thinking that your questions are simply a joke, but if they are not then:

You should always downshift when driving manual, not just for high speeds.

civic hatch boi
09-25-2002, 10:17 AM
smoke someone: launch at like 2.5-3
save gas: shift at like 3k-3.2k

downshifting will slow you down but i'd rather uses brakes.
only downshift to slow down when you need do .. ie. in the rain

SBC31
09-25-2002, 10:19 AM
Originally posted by civic hatch boi
downshifting will slow you down but i'd rather uses brakes.
only downshift to slow down when you need do .. ie. in the rain
Dude, this sort of defeats the purpose of having a manual tranny. I can't believe that some of you do not downshift.

02SilverSiHB
09-25-2002, 10:25 AM
Originally posted by SBC31

Dude, this sort of defeats the purpose of having a manual tranny. I can't believe that some of you do not downshift.
I only do it when I know I'll be getting back up to speed, or if I'm going like 100 and am going to stop, I'll use my brakes inconjunction with down shifting, to help save the brake pads

SBC31
09-25-2002, 10:30 AM
Originally posted by 02SilverSiHB