PDA

View Full Version : Pretty basic turbo Q's

SubliminalSi
01-28-2004, 10:51 AM
I might be getting the SFP turbo and i have no experience with turbos..anyways, is there any types of modifaction i need to do or buy for the turbo to work correctly. Also i drive almost 200 miles a week, would the turbo and enigne work ok putting that many miles on it? Also i might have to try to install it myself with a few friends, is it pretty striaght foward on installing it? and how long it could possibly take, i just heard that the oil return would be a bit compilcated...and if theres anything else i should know plz inform lil ole me:) <3

esmith13
01-28-2004, 11:04 AM
based on your post, i would say don't install it yourself....

However, if you ignore my plea - hers some of the tips you will need to know...

1) Oil return will involve drilling a hole in your oil pan

2) whole install will take about a week with two people working 4-6 hrs a day if you don't have a lift and air tools.

3) You NEED to have torque specs for the bolts you'll be messin with - especially for the turbo manifold...

4) If the kit dosen't come with ES Motor mount inserts - GET THEM

5) if you have to run a return fuel line for that kit - make sure your gas tank is at least half empty before you start your install and be prepared to remove your rear bench seat to work on the line

Also, EPHatchgirl did her own turbo install... I would ask her for more recommendations...

Eric

SubliminalSi
01-28-2004, 11:18 AM
lol, you kinda scared me about doing it myself, how long would a good shop take? and will i need new injectors?

esmith13
01-28-2004, 12:11 PM
I hope you kit comes with new injectors.... I assume if SFP is making as much HP as me and even more than me on their test car then you would need them. They should be in the kit.... you obviously haven't looked into this much... How about guages??? You NEED a boost guage and either A/F or EGT or both as well... Those are prolly not in your kit either...