PDA

View Full Version : help me help me... is this right??

toSi_orNot_toSi
02-13-2004, 10:31 AM
Hey guys... I got for X-mas a set of skunk2 adjustable coilovers and a buddy of mine who goes to UTI installed them for me last night (I have no knowledge of suspension other than OOOooooo its bumpy) Well the problem I have with this is that everytime i turn my wheel a loud popping noise comes from the right front wheel well. We pulled everything apart and everything looks to be assembled correctly. The directions that skunk2 sent us were about as shitty as a used roll of TP so we did the best we could given what we had and it turned out REAL nice... only prollem is the popping sounds... is that normal for it to pop while its settling?

THANKS

jaydub
02-13-2004, 10:36 AM
lubricate the top portion where the spring meets the strut bearing, that should help. My teins popped a lot at first, but it did go away eventually.

Eee Pee
02-13-2004, 04:51 PM
I keep reading, "Proper torque on the strut nut is essential."
Too much, it binds (and pops), too little, it rattles.

dofu
02-13-2004, 04:55 PM
eh... thats jus the coilovers settin into place... it'll go away in like 2 weeks or so

Siman
02-13-2004, 05:03 PM
Originally posted by Eee Pee
I keep reading, "Proper torque on the strut nut is essential."
Too much, it binds (and pops), too little, it rattles.

mine are poping too....I wonder if i compressed them too much too?:rolleyes:

k20hatch
02-13-2004, 05:16 PM
Mine poped for a pretty long time, finally stopped! But every ep i have seen lowered with coilovers had a that same popping noise, some times it would do it loud, silent, and sometimes not at all!

toSi_orNot_toSi
02-13-2004, 05:20 PM
Yea i was just worried that somethings rubbin bad or something. we were making jokes bout it last night... "WHATS UP GIRL!" *bing bing bing bing* "eewwwwwww"

shimmy_yaz
02-13-2004, 05:40 PM
Originally posted by k20hatch