PDA

View Full Version : Custom Turbo - Need advice

tekgnosis
02-24-2004, 09:52 AM
Hey guys

I need a devil's advocate. I might be able to pickup a slightly used turbo from a wrx. it has 10K on it, and has little to no shaft play (1mm).

It comes with the up/down pipe, which will be enough to get the turbo mounted (the manifolds are completely usable for welding to other exhaust pipes).

I'm an avid weekend mechanic and have a big drive to get a turbo.

But, I don't want a turbo kit...I want to build it myself for the fun. I will collect all the parts and slowly gather everything to my satisfaction.

I need a devil's advocate to explain to me why this is a bad idea if in fact it is a bad idea.

Anyone?

I'll be collecting the parts over the next year or so, buying stuff at random.

any help is appreciated!

thanks!

esmith13
02-24-2004, 09:56 AM
Go for it!!! Log everything you do and take LOTS of pictures!

DO IT, DO IT!! :D

Oh, you wanted to be told NOT to do it....

Sorry can't help you there.... DO IT!!!! :D

Seriously tho, just make sure you get a GOOD turbo manifold, use a S-AFC II for the fuel computer (if the Cybernation Guardian isn't done by the time your ready) and make your down pipe 2.5" - the EP seems to like 2.5" WAY better than 3.0". Oh, don't forget a good O2 simulator if your takin out the cat too.

Eric

K-Series
02-24-2004, 09:58 AM
Well, the "hardware" is the easy part. You can piece together the piping, intercooler, turbo, manifold and DP on your own. Fuel mgmt is where it get's tough.

I don't know if EManage, Hondata, or even CN's Guardian will be able to calculate the fuel for a custom set up.

You may need to go stand alone or AEM's unit.

Anyone else?

Steve

esmith13
02-24-2004, 10:01 AM
I thought guardian could adapt to ANYTHING the fuel system could put out enough fuel for???

Oh, yeah, that reminds me... If the turbo is a decent size get some larger injectors too... 550cc seems to be a good size.

Eric

K-Series
02-24-2004, 10:03 AM