PDA

View Full Version : I Would Like To Know Something Please!!

Littledragon77
03-16-2004, 03:27 PM
I am going to get the greddy turbo kit and ic. I want to know what else I need engine wise, clutch, electronics, brakes? What else will I need to keep my engine safe from screw up (besides keeping it tuned I already know this-as well as just not being a dumb shit with the turbo-educated myself on turbos,but I am still learning about all the extra parts that go along with the turbo setup to keep everything safe and running right). So if you guys could help me on this it would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

TheMutt
03-16-2004, 05:47 PM
Well the intercooler is always nice. Other than that, always run low boost, be sure to change your oil just as frequent if not more, a blow off valve and wastegate are always nice but I'm not sure if they come with the kit or not, other than that it's all just in how hard you are on the car. If you redline and step on it at every light I would expect your clutch to go out first.

dofu
03-16-2004, 06:49 PM
well, you'd want to cool off your engine so the oil doesnt coke up, risking damage to your turbo, so i'd have to say a turbo timer is a must. having that time the cool down for you is deffinately much better than just sitting there waiting a few minutes. and plus, it's kinda funny how some elder ppl will jus stare at your car like "wtf?" coz it's still running, but the ignition is off :D

a good blow off valve (greddy type-s is good) to keep intake air from spinning the turbo the wrong way when your throttle closes, at least an exhaust temp guage to go with the boost guage to see if you're running lean or rich (oil pressure guage helps too), and a boost controller is always nice if you can control yourself from turning the boost up too much.

C1V1C
03-18-2004, 08:49 PM
NOW the car will full of gauges ! may be I'll put an ALARM clock or something :) heheh