PDA

View Full Version : How to Shift Correctly

phammerz
04-19-2004, 06:06 PM
Hi, I'm completely new to the world of driving stick, I was wondering if people post how the shift ie slowing down to a complete stop or getting it into first for that matter. What are good habits, and what are bad habits? What is rev-matching and how is this accomplished? What are other terms that should be noted etc etc. Any and all good advice is greatly appreciated, thank you for your time.

ps. if there is an outstanding guide that I couldn't find, please direct me to it

chubbychu
04-19-2004, 06:07 PM
just be gentle.

Si4U2NV
04-19-2004, 07:14 PM
"do not downshift into FIRST, ever"

unless your going VERYYYYYYYYYYY VERY slowwwwwww

-Mike

siver-SI
04-19-2004, 07:24 PM
For stoping I push in the cluch while I brake and then I only shift into 1st if I am making a complete stop. If it is a rolling stop or just a slow down for someone to turn in front of you I will go into 2nd.

Slip_Angle
04-19-2004, 07:27 PM
What if your autocrossing? Say your going around a slow corner and second gear is at like 1500rpm and you need to apply throttle to exit fast? Downshift warranted?

siver-SI
04-19-2004, 07:34 PM
Originally posted by CDN-SiR-02
What if your autocrossing? Say your going around a slow corner and second gear is at like 1500rpm and you need to apply throttle to exit fast? Downshift warranted?

I would try 1st because it is racing, but watch out for tire spin because that would suck to get while in the middle of the turn.

ecsahs3
04-19-2004, 07:36 PM
blip the throttle before you throw it into first

siver-SI
04-19-2004, 07:44 PM
Originally posted by ecsahs3

Good point there.

Si4U2NV
04-19-2004, 07:47 PM
Originally posted by ecsahs3

revmatching is alwayz good when downshifting period...

correct me if im wrong...:smilem:

-Mike

civic hatch boi
04-19-2004, 08:20 PM
first off. if you're racing, heel toe.