PDA

View Full Version : Ep3 Lacks it in second

vtecmdnss
04-23-2004, 02:54 PM
Hey ep hatch members i just got my ep3 yasterday im new to the form and the k-motor. im also a former b-series owner the first thing i noticed was no more 8k shifts. I can live with that i guess. I also noticed with a redline shift there was still a major power drop off in second. i wasnt even shure i was still in vtec. I mean i didnt even hear it like when i test drove the type s. So I researched today to find out ep3 drivers hail turbo's and superchargers and ive gotten gyped with a vtec head that doesnt breath good. I was just thinking that maybe opening up the airway's on this motor would give it some more kick. is thier no hope for simple bolt ons with this car?

Tenacious G
04-23-2004, 03:03 PM
http://www.hondata.com/techk20general.html

the K20A3 doesn't have real VTEC ... but even w/o the VTEC, i think the K20A3 is better than the B16

03silverEP
04-23-2004, 03:22 PM
yup, we have gimp vtec (ivtec...) it's only on the intake cam and it's constantly variable from 2200-up, so there's no 'on/off' vtec switch like the B motors, to get real vtec and variable timing on the exhaust you need an RSX-S head (K20A2)and ECU $750&up for both, but they you'll have an 8,000 redline and 30 more hp. or the hondata program $600 raises redline to 7700 and 6-11 hp/tq across the board

and you need the A2 head to swap cams, the A3 head can't use A2 or type'r cams, skunk2 maybe coming out w/A3 cams but for the price you could just get the whole A2 head

vtecmdnss
04-23-2004, 03:30 PM
well is it a good idea to go with the a2 head? i realize i wont be able to take my a3 block to 8k alot withought problems but will i see power gains before 7k? because if so this sounds like a nice mod for the ep.

bobdobbs
04-23-2004, 03:34 PM
Originally posted by Tenacious G
the K20A3 doesn't have real VTEC