PDA

View Full Version : A little guidance please? ( long )

mykel
05-03-2004, 07:36 PM
Good Day

This being my first post - and a doozy it will be; I thought I would introduce myself first.

My name is Michael and I own an EP hatch...

Well, I bought one today to replace a quite heavily modded 1990 CRX Si for daily driver duty. One of those deals you just walk into and can't say no to. Anyway I have been driving Honda's since 1982 ( I'm gonna be 40 this August )and modding them for the last 10 years. I have been active in the online CRX community for about 7 years. This is an outdated snapshot of my CRX.

http://crx.honda-perf.org/cgi-bin/profileget.pl?email=mcollins@occumedhealth.com

Well, I ended up with a Black 03 hatch with the factory body-kit and it also has a set of 17" on it. I'm looking at changing the wheel/tire combo and lowering it ( I'm in Canada, no springs with the body kit ). I have been doing some reading of the forum that last couple of days and I have some observations and would like some guidance.

Most people seem to be running 17". I was thinking 16 myself - more performance over looks ( cheaper to replace the rubber too ) - AND - I also do quite abit of driving on paved back-roads the extra rubber helps with the pot-holes/ broken pavment Am I out to lunch here? ( 17's do look good tho...)

So like I said thinking 16" Rota Sub-zero or CF-10 probably in bronze. Tires would be either Toyo T1-S ( current on the CRX ) or Yok ES-100's.
Anybody have comments or want to recomend a good looking lightweight rim? ( I was thinking C8 but the wife likes the 10's better, I think I do too, but they be heavier....)Also, what is the offset? I know I read it somewhere, but can't find it now.

As for springs, in the CRX world it is not a good idea to put lowering springs on stock shock. I realize the EP's been beefed up in the valving, but can they handle an aftermarket drop spring? ( Can't afford a good set of dampers at the same time )