PDA

View Full Version : Engine wear and tear........

norcalSI
10-27-2002, 09:57 AM
Supp guys....I am a new stick shift driver....I was wondering will my engine of my ep be okay with all the wear and tear from learning to drive a stick? Man its like i get scared to drive the car because i make mistakes sometimes. Another concern that i have is....is it bad for the engine to die because you let go of the clutch with out of gas or not enough of gas? Just wondering because I tend to do that a lot when i park...Don't want to go forward too fast... And if i die when a car is behind me i get nervous and die again... and again and again...Please let me know you guys think. I would hate to be hurting my engine....Another question that i have is it bad to have low rpms? like below 1000 at times? hmm thanks for all your time....Lates...

JSIR
10-27-2002, 11:33 AM
stalling the engine isn't that bad in terms of wear, as long as your not doing it 1000 times. But revving the engine up high and slipping the clutch heavily to get going will wear the clutch out more quickly (you see this often after people stall, and then try to take off quickly when re-starting). Grinding gears can be harmful to the tranny, hopefully you're not doing that too often. Driving at low rpms isn't too bad as long as you don't load the engine heavily with lots of throttle in a high gear. Driving at 800 rpms in first gear with light throttle in a parking lot won't hurt anything, and is quite normal. Driving in 4th gear at 1000 rpms with 50% throttle is hard on the drivetrain/engine though.hth

civic hatch boi
10-27-2002, 11:45 AM