PDA

View Full Version : A CDT fan is born.......

oogy-boogy
07-12-2004, 06:44 AM
Well, I picked up a set of 6 1/2" CDT EF-61CF's from 02sicivic for a great price (thanks again!). I was skeptical as I've been using MB Quarts coaxials and components for over 10 years. I was also skeptical as it included 3/4 titanium domes and I've always liked the 1" tweets. I was currently using a set of PSC-213 Premium 5 1/4" components with 1" tweeters and Musicomp crossovers. I figured I would do some additional door build up and sound deadening while I had the doors apart. They were already partially dynamtted but I was not happy with the results. Unfortunately, I did not have a camera available :(.

I started off by removing the door panels. I then made plexiglass "covers" for every hole on the door so as to create more of a sealed type enclosure to wake up my midbass response. I tapped holes in a few of the panels to better secure them. I used a silicone type adhesive to stick everything on. I was using silicone due to its integrity under extreme temperatures. I also opened up the door to accomodate my 6 1/2" 's. The magnet on the driver was fairly large so I fabricated some MDF 3/4" spacers.

I ended up mounting the crossover on one of the fabricate plexiglass covers and used some Dynamat on the back of the circuit board and crossover plastic to end any resonance issues. I covered all necessary screw and clip holes with masking tape. I also used aluminum foil on all of the connections to keep them clean. I filled up any small and unused holes with silicone. I masked off the door and car to keep everything clean. I used some plastic sheeting I had lying around.

Next up, I grabbed the 2 cans of rubberized undercoating I had picked up ($4.99 each). I used one can on each door skin and allowed an hour to dry. I then pulled off all the masking and replaced the door skins. The door skins fit perfectly and required no modifying for the new larger speakers.