PDA

View Full Version : DIY: Turn off 'Maintenance Required' light

BobSassafrass
04-20-2008, 01:35 PM
Did a search and couldn't find this anymore but found it on google and figured the "new" site needed it.

This information was taken from http://www.tegger.com/hondafaq/maintenance-reqd-light.html I have no other knowledge about the maintenance required light than what has been posted here. The one thing I do have to add is that the maintenance required light is not the same as the check engine light and does not serve any of the same functions.

How does it work?

From Kevin Sargent:
"If the light is on, it is simply a mileage trigger. There is nothing wrong with your car. Also, these triggers I quoted are on my Canadian Integra (hence the KM indication straight from the book), and it also may have changed from the 1996 model year to 1998, but I doubt it.

* For the first 9,600km (6,000mi) after resetting, it will light for two seconds when the car is started (normal light test).
* Between 9,600km (6,000mi) and 12,000km (7,500mi), the light will come on solid for two seconds after turning the key to ON, then flash for 8 seconds.
* After 12,000km (7,500mi), the light stays on constantly.
How do I turn it off?

Note: Make certain all the exterior lamps (headlights, parking, etc) are OFF before you try to turn off the Maintenance Required lamp. If any exterior lamps are ON, the computer will not allow the Maintenance lamp to be turned off!
If you have Daytime Running Lamps (DRL's)... If the DRL's are factory, pull the parking brake lever up before turning the ignition key to II. If the DRL's are aftermarket, read the manual that came with them for how to turn them off, or pull their fuse.

Odometer reset button procedure

1. Turn the key to the II position (but not to III, or START)
2. Turn the key to the 0 (OFF) position, then push -- and hold -- the odometer reset button
3. Turn the key back to the II position, while still holding the button