PDA

View Full Version : K24a1 swap DIY

davisj3537
04-21-2008, 07:11 AM
Well long awaited DIY guys.Sorry for the bullshit excuses...so here it goes.All of my advice is to be taken with a grain of salt since I am not a certified mechanic.Foreword...If you don't know your way around your engine bay fairly well then this is not something you should do on your own.
TOOLS
8,10,12,14,17, and 19mm sockets,wrenches and deep sockets
Jack stands
tq wrench
Engine lift
Screw driver
I would really reccomend a full tool box for this one but these are just a few that came to mind.
SPECIAL PARTS NEEDED
1.CRV passenger side motor mount PART #11910-PPA-000
2.Special header(Strup,DCRH, JRRH...hits slightly, Hytech, SSR)(If you get a dcrh I reccomend a type s one since it has larger pipes)
a.Kpro
b.310cc injectors w/ a3 ecu(no bolts on allowed or you will run lean)(remove front sway for the fitment of your stock header and cat)
4.I highly reccomend getting a shop manual in case you run into any problems
GETTING YOUR ENGINE BAY READY
Since you keep almost everything from the a3 it is not a very expensive swap.You will reuse all of basic stuff like starter,alternator,ps steering,water pump.I found it much easier to move stuff out of the way instead of completely removing it.For instance instead of taking the throttle body off the Intake Manifold i just set the whole thing on the windshield on a towel.I tried to remove as little as possible when swapping motors.For instance you don't have to remove the trannsmission before pulling the motor...I unbolted the battery tray and brake/clutch fluid reserviors and moved them slightly to squeeze the motors in and out.I pulled my motor out of the top so i removed the hood and I personally thought this was easier than taking it out of the bottom.Enough said on that so now on the good stuff...
CRANK POSITION SENSOR