PDA

View Full Version : how to: heel toe downshifting

MugsyTheGr8
05-22-2008, 04:35 PM
im sure alot of you guys are pros at it, but im still a newb at it and im sure some others are too.

here's an article i found on Edmunds that really helped me out. Click here (http://www.edmunds.com/advice/youngdrivers/articles/119593/article.html)

RedSiBaron
05-22-2008, 04:54 PM
good post, this is a good habit to get into, and the purpose of this is to rev match...

i do this automatically now, and i also double clutch

which means when you put in the clutch on downshifts you shift to neutral and let the clutch out and rev match and then engage the clutch again to shift down, and then let out the clutch to finish your shift...

good habit...i had to learn it on my old car cuz the syncros were gone 1st through 3rd and if i didnt double clutch and rev match it wouldnt downshift...

player757
05-22-2008, 07:41 PM
i revmatch + double clutch every shift every day i blew up my 3rd gear syncro is shot. plus it add just a lil more to driving. keeps me happy with the car

RHCP0801
05-22-2008, 07:52 PM
seems confusing to me but this is my first stick shift daily driver and have only been driving it since monday

RedSiBaron
05-22-2008, 08:02 PM
seems confusing to me but this is my first stick shift daily driver and have only been driving it since monday

haha my best advice is before all this start by slowing down shifts and timing them, dont worry about rev matching or double clutching your downshifts...start by adding the rev matching, its just a tiny blip up about 1k rpms, and then when you get that down add double clutching

...slamming through gears is sloppy...

RHCP0801
05-22-2008, 08:04 PM
so when slowing down to turn rev it up say from 2k to 3k and than downshift?

RedSiBaron
05-22-2008, 08:21 PM
so when slowing down to turn rev it up say from 2k to 3k and than downshift?