PDA

View Full Version : Painting interior?

NitroBoarder
06-01-2008, 11:44 AM
I know there was a DIY before, but I can't seem to find it. I'm thinking it's just, sand the part you want to paint, primer, and paint? or should I use adhesion promoter? what grit sand paper? I'm a total noob at spray painting.

jtyler05si
06-04-2008, 06:22 AM
yeah,
bought all my stuff at auto body paint store
PREP:
i used some plastic cleaner stuff that comes in a can, pretty much just degreases it to get all my oils off.
i then wet sanded it with 1200 grit. dont need to sand all the paint off, just take off a bit everywhere to give it a good surface for the paint.
I washed it with soap and water (i used the dawn in white bottle)
plastic cleaner again(read directions on it, spray and rinse i believe)
Let it dry, i hung it for hours.
PAINT:
bought SEM adhesion promotor and SEM landau black spray paint.
Read directions and you should do fine.
if i remember correctly: spray light coat of adhesion promotor, wait 5 minutes, spray generous coat of promotor, wait 15 to 30 minutes, then i sprayed light coat of paint, waited for it to flash, put a good coat on, touched up.
that be it....
http://i281.photobucket.com/albums/kk212/jtyler05si/IMG_0282.jpg
http://i281.photobucket.com/albums/kk212/jtyler05si/IMG_0270.jpg

dashehonda
06-04-2008, 12:56 PM
If youre doing smooth stuff, Like the center dash, use no less than 800 grit, you will be able to see the scratches after its painted no matter what color you use. If you are doing textured stuff, like the A,B,and C pillar pieces, dont sand them, just use some acetone to remove all the dirt, hit it with some ***adhesion promoter*** then paint.