PDA

View Full Version : about oil pump.....

essraverone
06-08-2008, 11:45 AM
hi everyone....i just wonder a2 oil pump is better then a a3? cuz some pep said is better some plp say is not.I am going to do a turbo on my car so which pump is better,and the a2 pump is both-on right up to a3 motor? no need to mods or i need to do some thin to make it fit???

p.s...........i am a noob so pls help me : )

Fico
06-08-2008, 11:53 AM
talonhad a sticky about it on the site before it blew up, i dont know if he reposted it but i belive the concensus is A2 is about the same as the A3 A1 A4, Z series pumps are better

squeak04si
06-08-2008, 12:24 PM
the a2 pump is lighter so it pumps more oil with less effort. the fact that it is lighter wil yield a small gain cuz its less rotating mass on the motor.

dobbs02si
06-08-2008, 03:27 PM
the a2 pump is lighter so it pumps more oil with less effort. the fact that it is lighter wil yield a small gain cuz its less rotating mass on the motor.

BUT you lose oil pressure because the a2 pump spins at 1.619:1 of the crank speed, where the Balance shaft pumps spin at 2:1. And I believe the relief springs are the same between k's(not 100%)..maybe Doug will chime in and straighten this out.

squeak04si
06-08-2008, 03:44 PM
BUT you lose oil pressure because the a2 pump spins at 1.619:1 of the crank speed, where the Balance shaft pumps spin at 2:1. And I believe the relief springs are the same between k's(not 100%)..maybe Doug will chime in and straighten this out.

i have no clue

Lucid Moments
06-08-2008, 04:37 PM

Thats true enough, but for the same reason with the K20A2 pump you have fewer issues with cavitation at high RPM, so if you are running a higher revving motor it can be better.

EggLaNd'S BeSt
06-08-2008, 05:50 PM
This months Honda Tuning is a must-read.There is a excellent article on K-series oil pumps in it.

essraverone
06-08-2008, 05:59 PM