PDA

View Full Version : modifying stock shift knob?

jtyler05si
06-30-2008, 07:38 AM
well i have been looking through the recent shift knob thread and i have decided that i like the stock one best. i personally think nothing matches better.
but, the only reason i want to buy an aftermarket one is the increased weight.

so that leads me to the question, has anyone seen or heard of someone pulling apart the stock knob and adding weights in it?

I haven't taken apart the knob yet, so i dont know how much room there would be for doing anything like this.

well any comments are welcome.

Heitzke
06-30-2008, 08:09 AM
I don't know man, seems like a waste IMO. I am kind of biased, however, because I really didn't like the stock piece. I think you should try out some different knobs before you decide the stock is best. I've been using a black textured Team Voodoo for almost two years now and still love it.

jtyler05si
06-30-2008, 09:25 AM
ya. i have borrowed a friends, skunk 2. i wouldn't care about this except for the fact that i loved the heavier feel.

about the liking hte stock- i think the black with red stitching just looks like it fits.

Kodeen
06-30-2008, 09:28 AM
How heavy would a spoonful of cement be? I'm trying to think of some substance that you can poor in as liquid and let dry.

jtyler05si
06-30-2008, 09:31 AM
How heavy would a spoonful of cement be? I'm trying to think of some substance that you can poor in as liquid and let dry.

ya i was thinking about that...i think cement would eventually fall apart and be a damn mess.

so the only space for weighted material is in the hole where it screws on??

Kodeen
06-30-2008, 09:38 AM
What if you poored in some cement, then after it had fully dried, poor in some really strong caulk-like adhesive. I'm sure 3M makes something.

But it all comes down to how much would that small of an amount of cement weigh. I'm guessing not that much.

jtyler05si
06-30-2008, 09:44 AM