PDA

View Full Version : Suspension Modifications, Alignment Specs & Tire Size

spydur
07-07-2008, 03:38 PM
My stock 04 with 21K on the clock is about to receive new D-Specs and Progress springs. I have these questions:

(1) Has anyone had personal experience with Energy Suspension bushings? Should I install the Energy Suspension master bushing kit on my EP 3?;

(2) What alignment specs should I use?

(3) Can I safely install 225 50 high performance all season tires on my stock 6.5" wheels without encountering some clearance/rubbing issues, (the 205's and the 225's have almost the same diameter, it's the additional width of the 225's and mounting a 225 on a 6.5" width rim that I am concerned about)?

Thanks from Tulsa
SPYDUR

S A I L - O N

ep_hatcher_510
07-07-2008, 03:46 PM
i have no personal experience wit the es bushings, but changing those out will be an big improvement.

bigo711
07-07-2008, 04:34 PM
I didnt change bushings b/c my car is DD and bushings give vibration to the car. I don't want excess vibration on DD
Your suspension setup with good alignment should be good enough already for DD and occasionally autoX.

for alignment spec, i highly recommend getting some front camber bolts and rear camber kit.

I use 2 degree camber front, 1 degree camber rear. 0.05 degree toe out rear
From my personal experience, this is a easy to drive, yet fun, setting for street use. Anything more extreme would probably be too difficult to handle safely on street by novice driver like me.

i am not sure whether 225 on 6.5 will be okay, but i am sure it's not the best combination.
Again, for DD, I would stick with 205/55/16 because of the gas price!
Upgrading 205 to 225 would harm your gas mileage

spydur
07-07-2008, 05:32 PM
bigo771 - Thanks for your comments. you got me thinking.