PDA

View Full Version : curious...

SwA
07-22-2008, 02:47 AM
im a total noob when talking about speakers, subs, and amp. im just wondering if you can run 2 12inch subs with 2 amp with stock headunit and stock speakers

v1c10us
07-22-2008, 03:55 AM
in theory yes.
but you'd do much better to change the headunit
and depending on your tastes, you might prefer the sound of 4 powered speakers with a nice headunit.
My friend has 4 alpine type r 6'' speakers powered fully and its enough bass for an EP for sure, and its definitely enough to make your music just sound dead good without being all bass and ratle.

old crusty
07-22-2008, 12:07 PM
you could but most amp install kits have wire that just directly connect with the after market head units. if u do not get a new head unit u will have to do a bunch of other wiring and its a lot of extra manual labor.

the best thing to do is get a new head unit

SwA
07-22-2008, 03:27 PM
what about the speakers? do i really need to change it? is stock speakers good enough? and for headunit, does it matter if i get cheap one?

underOATH
07-22-2008, 05:39 PM
what about the speakers? do i really need to change it? is stock speakers good enough? and for headunit, does it matter if i get cheap one?

again, depends on your music preference.

Headunits are usually a MUST. They will make it easier to wire, they improve overall sound(by delivering more/cleaner power), and you will have more options regarding MP3 disks, ipods, and AUX devices.

When you start talking about speakers, its really all up to you. If youre listening to music with alot of 808 drops or deep, bassy sound then a sub might fare better for you. If you enjoy faster music that is heavy on the mids, then speakers might be a good buy. I personally think the stock speakers are good ENOUGH (well, the rears suck) so I have a headunity with one 12" in the back... And I listen to rap/indie/screemo music. Honestly Though, its your choice...