PDA

View Full Version : Audio Shop Rates

saintluk2
07-24-2008, 12:13 AM
I fibbed my own audio install, and since i no longer have a garage available to work in it's time for a re-installation, professionally this time. I'm new to this so, I just wanted to know how much you guys have paid to have your systems installed and what kidn of work was done ?

I talked to one shop that was popular around here and they qouted me $71/hour, but would not even give me a ballpark figure of how long it woudl take for what i wanted exactly. Then $136 flat rate at Circuity City's shop (prob same as Best Buy). I have to do more shopping around,.. ! :mbiggrin:

minivancoupe
07-24-2008, 12:31 AM
DO NOT go to best buy, circuit city, etc. those places are really bad. recently there was an article about circuit city messing up all the elctronics in someones car and they shortcutted everything. if you are set on paying someone to do it, find a reputable audio shop in your local area. as for rate, i dont know....self install ftw

VegaS10
07-24-2008, 05:08 AM
DO NOT go to best buy, circuit city, etc. those places are really bad. recently there was an article about circuit city messing up all the elctronics in someones car and they shortcutted everything. if you are set on paying someone to do it, find a reputable audio shop in your local area. as for rate, i dont know....self install ftw

Don't make such broad ignorant statements.

The si you mentioned was a defintie scam by the dealership, and by the end of that huge fustercluck of a thread, even most of 8thgencivic was dropping support.

Anyways, what exactly is wrong?

Going behind someone else's work is usually a nightmare. In reality, the best thing to do is rip everything out and start from scratch. Expect a higher cost for "repair" work than you would have spent for an initial install.

No shop likes working on someone else's work. It's never fun and if something goes wrong after that, the shop gets all the blame.

underOATH