PDA

View Full Version : Advice for swaybar/endlink install for newbs

Dorachagi
08-14-2008, 10:42 AM
I wanted to make this post after purchasing and installing a DC5-R rear swaybar (showstoppers) and CorSport V2 endlinks. I research everything I do pretty thoroughly, but somehow I never really found anything that explained preload and how to properly setup the bar. Mine was installed with the car on jack stands and the suspension uncompressed (wheels just hanging). Installing it like this gives it no preload. After driving for awhile (and autocrossing) with the bar rattling and loose I finally figured it out (after finding some good info on BMW sites), and after a 20 minutes job I was able to feel a huge difference (and eliminate most of the rattles from the rear). Hopefully this might explain things a little clearer for anyone else who already has or is going to install a sway bar/endlinks. Oh, and fair warning, I'm not a mechanic or any kind of authority on suspension, so if I'm wrong about anything please post a reply and let us all know, I'd appreciate it.....