PDA

View Full Version : Ep3 Troubles........

Limelite Racing
03-30-2010, 05:46 PM
I have a 2002 EP3, the other day I was cruising home like usual, 5th gear cruisin that bitch. Long story short, check engine light pops on, I say my typical "fuck that shit." Stop at the light, hear a tapping noise. Tap tap tap away, this lil Ep of mine does, now im feeling major misfire, tapping gets louder. I told that lil Ep " you'll be alright baby girl" and got her home. As a mechanic, I pulled a 304, 4th cyl. misfire. Pulled the injectors B-12 blasted them bitches out, still had the problem. Replaced the plugs, but pulling out the 4th cylinder coil pack was quite the pain, shit it's melted I thought. So i broke the head off, grabbed some channels and yanked the bitch out of there. Sure as shit, it was melted. Got the remainder of melted coil pack out of there and noticed that that spark plug was loose. I was thinking hey, whoever did the plugs before I bought this car might not have known what they were doing, but then again the dry fire could have caused the heat to melt a pack, or a short in the coil pack could have also caused the problem in the first place, which could have all been started by a plugged injector. Anyways, the tapping I have diagnosed as a non-rod knock, hopefully not a valve problem, but I'll keep you guys posted. Just doing what I can without having to pull the head off of it.

Anyways, just wanted to let off some steam. If anyone has a similar problem, I'll be sure to make a write up of this. Has anyone even had a similar problem? For a K20a3 with a little over 70k on it, from my Honda experience shouldn't be anything too serious.

ep3k20
03-30-2010, 06:37 PM