PDA

View Full Version : tires

frankybeanzep3
05-30-2010, 04:45 PM
hey guys i need some help! i bought some nice dc5 type-r 17x7 knock off wheels and i need some nice tires for them but since i'm a noob i need some input from the ep crew to tell me what tire and what size i should go with! it's either a 215-45-17 which is what i believe they say belongs on the car or a 215-40-17...car is not dropped yet so that might factor in! please give me some input! i'm sure this question has been asked a million times..btw the 2 tires i was looking at were the hankook ventus v12 and the sumitomo hrtz 2 also i need to stay under 400!

socmex7
05-30-2010, 05:48 PM
v12's and 215/45-17.. the 40 series will look like crap at stock height.

my avatar pic has the same wheel/tire specs at stock height.

Ronnie
05-31-2010, 07:54 AM
he is right
if u are stock then go with 215/45 , if not I would highly suggest u to go with 215/40
BTW Hankook v12 are the best, my buddy had them on his FG2
and now am running RS2

frankybeanzep3
05-31-2010, 03:41 PM
thanks for the input guy's! i'm gonna drop the car as well i thought maybe a inch or 1.5 inches...i want the wheel well gap to be minimal but also want the car to handle good! so these two tires are good for the money any other brands you guys like or are these 2 the best in my price range? also not to go off topic but what would u guy's use to drop the car? also any lug's that u guy's prefer? i was looking at the project kics

socmex7
05-31-2010, 08:50 PM
the hankooks are the best bang for buck. take it from someone who goes through tires like shoes. there are better tires (*cough*Dunlop Direzza Star Specs) but they will be out of your designated price range. as for lugs i have the black ones of these:
http://www.gorilla-auto.com/small.diameter.aluminum.lugs
i'm happy with them. they are durable and lightweight.

BlownSi05
06-01-2010, 06:18 AM