PDA

View Full Version : First time oil change by self...

tatsu666
07-06-2010, 06:05 PM
LOL yes i'm a noob, and i usually take it to garage to get it done. but since now i can get real gd deals on royal purp and lots of stuff, i decided to do it myself.

4L royal purp 5w-20 + K&N oil filter for S2000 total price = $52CDN :tehehyper:

any of u guys could really use a filter wrench to undo or tighten the filter? cuz i couldn't reach in and really turn it. i've only tighten it w/ hand, is it enough?

.colin
07-06-2010, 06:10 PM
i use my hands to take it on and off

thisisagame24
07-06-2010, 06:13 PM
some dealerships really crank it on there. my very first oil change was a bitch to get the filter off. since then i can use my hand to put on and remove the filter

would suggest going with 5w-30 oil to help keep the cam shafts in better shape

beechstreet
07-06-2010, 06:44 PM
hand tight is what is recommended. Some filters even note it on the side of the filter. congrats on your first oil change.

2k3hatchie
07-06-2010, 07:05 PM
Congrats on DIY! Make sure you lube the filter gasket and hand tighten. Using a wrench to tighten down the filter is overkill. Using 5w-30 is the way to go. I forget who said it (maybe talon), our engine was the first and last K series to call for 5w-20 (or something along those lines). The Base RSX has essentially the same engine and it calls for 5w-30.

ttttrigg3r
07-06-2010, 07:08 PM
did you have trouble getting to the filter? even with the wheel off i was cussing at the engineers for putting it in such a hard to reach place.

Sucka
07-06-2010, 07:15 PM
I hand tighten my filter. To remove the filter sometimes i use a clamp and twist it off alittle and just loosen it with my hands afterwards.

SkareKrow
07-06-2010, 09:55 PM
LOL yes i'm a noob, and i usually take it to garage to get it done. but since now i can get real gd deals on royal purp and lots of stuff, i decided to do it myself.