PDA

View Full Version : hfp suspension question???

i_love_my_ep3!
07-21-2010, 10:58 AM
ok i have the hfp kit i hear its awsome but it only drops the car 3/4 of an inch

i was wanting to know if u use some skunk2 springs with for now until i get bigger
rims to use with the hfp springs will it ruin or mess up my hfp stocks since the springs
it comes with only drops it 3/4 of an inch?

EPSU3
07-21-2010, 11:51 AM
i'm by no means a suspension expert but I have the hfp kit and thought about this before. From what I've read I've come to the conclusion that the springs and dampers in the kit are made for each other. Although the dampers are stiffer in the HFP kit they are still designed for that particular spring rate and drop rate. I'm sure someone more knowledgeable will chime in, but I'd say keep the stock set up. On a 02-03 the hfp drop makes the car look normal. I've been sitting on stock wheels for a year now, rims are coming tomorrow but it doesn't look bad compared to the 4x4 like clearance of stock suspension and 15'' wheels.

PatrickJamesYu
07-21-2010, 12:25 PM
I would assume it would be alright as long as it doesn't bottom out
But I do not recommend it because it putting the addition 2+" by skunk will put the shocks on the lowest part of its stroke range.
closer to bottoming out, and simply putting their idle stroke range quite low compared to the 3/4"
But think of it this way, the 3/4 drop isn't an additional stress to the shocks.
That is standard, so you're not adding the 2.5 inches by skunk2 and the .75" by hfp.
to the hfp kit, it thinks of its self as stock, so the 2.5 inches you add to 0.
So you're not making their stroke range "even" lower, you're simply making it lower from standard.
If you know what I mean.

Most stock shocks can be dropped about 1.5 inches 'safely' as long as it isn't bottoming out
but it does take a percentage of it's life away

Know that if you get bigger rims, you will not experience much of a drop with the hfp.