PDA

View Full Version : Security for the EP's

Jiggaboojeff
08-18-2010, 11:26 PM
Hey guys I bought my EP not that long ago and everything is bone stock for now, and I was just wondering what kind of security does a factory alarm provide because when I arm the car I could still get in to the car with my keys and start the car with out the alarm going off "Or is it even an alarm I kicked my tires multiple times and it still won't go off". And it the car locks automatically when I stand next to the car but it won't lock automatically when I walk away. My fear is someone stealing the car off. One more questions could the EP3 be keyed open? Even if its a laser cut key?

Thanks alot guys.

PatrickJamesYu
08-19-2010, 01:33 AM
I'm no expert, but quite oftenly we have customers lock their keys in their cars in our parking lot.
Being a Pawn Shop we have a car lock picking kit designed for Auto Companys and auto repo guys.
I use it ALL they timeee for the customers that lock their keys.
I've gotten into some fancy Lexus's with those fancy "reverse" lazer cut kinda thing going.
So the locks on the ep3 door aren't anything fancy and unpenetrable
I dealy the lock picking kit we have doesn't go into the key hole at all
If you ever see AAA come and break into a car, its the same way.
Usually its just pry the door open and unlock it

About the alarm
I have an aftermarket.
I don't think it locks its self..
but If I arm it, and use the key to unlock it, the alarm goes off, and I can't start the car unless I disarm the alarm.
If I am inside of my car, and then I arm it, and I try to start the car, my alarm goes off, and the car won't start untill the alarm is disengaged
If I arm my alarm, and kick my tires, it doesn't go off (for what I remember)
In the morning I'll give my tires a good kick and see what happens

I assume Honda's alarm system SHOULD act the same way.
But this is only my guess

makavelibranded
08-19-2010, 01:44 AM
there is no stock alarm you have to buy one

ep3colin