PDA

View Full Version : Need help with Exahust shopping!!

04EpNewb
09-07-2010, 12:14 AM
Hi everyone,

I'm a EP3 newb as you can see my screen name says it all. I just bought the car recently and has a Cold air intake that's about it.

I've been browsing around for some cat back exhaust systems and have come across a few well priced ones such as Magna flow and Megan racing the dual tip ones. I'm looking for an exahust that's really deep in tone and direct bolt on types. I'm clue less when shoping for aftermarket parts. please help me. i dont want anything tooo loud just deep in sound.

Also is the direct bolt on megan racing header 4-2-1 good? was thinkin of just chaging out the stock one. i dont want to get a header that eliminates the cata converter... help please!! i'm a newb

04EpNewb
09-08-2010, 01:28 AM
/bump! need help from the ep3 gurus!! another question. Mugen exhaust....says only fits jdm ctr... how would i go about trying to put one on my usdm ep3? would i need to install a diff manifold? does a dc5 fit into the usdm ep3s? dammit i'm such a nooob help!

BeaterEP
09-08-2010, 08:52 AM
Kinda hard to give advice. Your best bet is to dig around in some of the older threads, look up people's ideas on the various exhausts they've gotten over the years. I can't speak to any of the aftermarket stuff personally, but I'm running the `05 Type-S exhaust.
Basically, the Type-S exhaust will bolt right up, but there are some differences. The first important one is inner diameter; the EP3 OEM exhaust has an inner diameter of something like 1.68"-1.75" (don't remember exactly, but it's small :mbiggrin:). The Type-S exhaust (`05+) is 2.25" inner diameter, so it's good for opening up your exhaust.