PDA

View Full Version : Oil CHANGE

04EpNewb
10-02-2010, 04:39 PM
hey ep3 community!

Did my first oil change. I got me some OEM honda oil filters and Used Castrol synth oil 5w-20.

Question. Is it worth using OEM honda oil filters with other type of oils like synthetic and diff brands?
I figured it's best to use OEM honda filter with OEM honda oil.
Or is it best to get a aftermarket Oil filter for better performance and something suitable with synthetic oil. Dont bash me i'm a newb when it comes to Cars. Starting to get the hang of this and getting more into cars ;D

Btw It wasn't that bad changing the oil filter as i thought it would be from the forums i've read online heh. Used a ramp.

RHCP0801
10-02-2010, 04:44 PM
i always use a honda filter than mobil 1 synthetic 5w30

ep3egg
10-02-2010, 07:35 PM
Honda OEM filters always dood, good job!

Silvercard
10-02-2010, 09:36 PM
NICE! Feel good changing the oil and stuff like that on my ep . make me appreciate it more lol. Honda OEM are good. From experience, stay away from Fram oil filters. They have swollen or cracked on me. I have using lately purolator filter with royal purple.

beechstreet
10-02-2010, 09:53 PM
For what they charge for those honeywell made Honda filters you'd be better off going with Wix/Napa Gold, Bosch, Purolator, or even save some cash while you're at it and get some SuperTechs at Walmart. just my 2 cents

Twisted-X
10-03-2010, 12:33 AM
From experience, stay away from Fram oil filters. They have swollen or cracked on me.

Not sure if they still do, but they used to have cardboard endcaps that disintegrate and leaky bypass valves. link (http://minimopar.knizefamily.net/oilfilters/reference.html)

Paul 631
10-03-2010, 10:32 AM
honda uses fram to supply their OEM filters. The endcaps aren't cardboard, but a bonded fiber medium...

04EpNewb
10-04-2010, 12:17 AM