PDA

View Full Version : Engine on track for disaster?

Calvinep3
10-27-2010, 04:55 PM
Ok so today I changed my oil with castrol syn 5w30
I had an issue with the oil drain plug being stripped so my bro(a mechanic) helped me take it out
my engine has 113xxx and i found metal at the bottom of the oil pan from the oil i removed. After putting in my new oil my bro said that my engine is gonna die out on me and he gave my car about a month. idk if hes being an asshole or hes being serious. any thoughts suggestions or ways i prevent my engine from failing? its my dd and im a college student so i rely on it alot.

04EP3Hatch
10-27-2010, 05:07 PM
Ok so today I changed my oil with castrol syn 5w30
I had an issue with the oil drain plug being stripped so my bro(a mechanic) helped me take it out
my engine has 113xxx and i found metal at the bottom of the oil pan from the oil i removed. After putting in my new oil my bro said that my engine is gonna die out on me and he gave my car about a month. idk if hes being an asshole or hes being serious. any thoughts suggestions or ways i prevent my engine from failing? its my dd and im a college student so i rely on it alot.

define metal please? small mettalic shavings, large shavings/chunks, copper colored bits? or maybe small peices of orange looking material (tensioner guides). does the engine sound normal, no knocks, taps or ticks? and check your cams if you have the stock A3

04EP3Hatch
10-27-2010, 05:09 PM
i'd due an old fashin flush on her though, if the engine is quiet. go get some cheaper 0w20 and idle the engine for 20 minutes with it in there then let it drain for hours. it'll deplete all the old oil and whatever is left behind

Calvinep3
10-27-2010, 05:29 PM
define metal please? small mettalic shavings, large shavings/chunks, copper colored bits? or maybe small peices of orange looking material (tensioner guides). does the engine sound normal, no knocks, taps or ticks? and check your cams if you have the stock A3