PDA

View Full Version : Suspension Questions

1mp4ct
11-14-2010, 11:48 AM
Hi guys,

New to ephatch, and just got my 05 a couple months ago. Everything is stock, 40k miles
I want to drop it a little, and was wondering if I should change out anything else, other than coilovers. LCA? Camber kit? f/r? I'm still learning about the car, and I love it so far! I looked around on the forums and didn't find a clear post, sorry in advance if this has been posted!

Oh, and whats a good coilover kit? I was looking at the Tien flex, but they are pricey!!

jed_averill
11-14-2010, 05:14 PM
If you're whole purpose is just lowering it for the looks (ie DD), then the $300+ Coilovers (springs instead if you want to go cheaper), like Racelands, and an alignment will do the trick.

PatrickJamesYu
11-14-2010, 05:50 PM
Yeah
A nice cheap route.
Raceland Coilovers
And a camber kit
Ingalls has a nice one.

You don't need to upgrade LCA's
that's performance, weight reduction, and looks.

Note: strut/shocks + springs is quite nice at times
little maintenance
tend to be cheaper (not against racelands, but it's competitors: tien, megan, etc.)

1mp4ct
11-14-2010, 06:41 PM
Yea I do want quality too tho. I plan to do other work aswell so I dont want to be limited and have to buy a new set. How many miles can u put on a good set of coilovers? or those Racelands? If I'm only lowering it about an inch or so, do I really need to worry about the camber kit? or should I just wait till the stock ones go?

Its a DD for now, but slowly I may change that..

jed_averill
11-14-2010, 09:36 PM
Then I suggest you buy used ones from the people in here. You can probably cop a nice well maintained ones for a good deal. Its like hand me Downs lol

Passenger
11-15-2010, 12:01 AM