PDA

View Full Version : k20a2 swap! engine rebuild questions...

danito321
12-26-2010, 06:56 PM
i just bought a k20a2 for dirt cheap. the head was being rebuilt but im new to building an engine. what should i do when rebuilding an engine? what things should be replaced? what should i look for? should i clean all the parts (acid wash or steam or lots of carb choke cleaner?)? i just got a service manual. what things should i keep in mind...

what can i reuse from my old engine (k20a3)? all i have is the engine block, a head, oil pump, water pump, and some other things... what else would i need for this swap?

RHCP0801
12-26-2010, 08:09 PM
sounds like you should give it to someone who knows what they are doing

urthworm
12-26-2010, 10:11 PM
I would replace the rod bearings, piston rings and oil pump for sure. The water pump, oil pump and head components on the a3 wont do you any good for the a2. But without seeing the engine its hard to say, is it hammered or in good shape? And if your unsure of what you are doing it would be a good idea to have a machine shop put it all together for you.. or do alot of research.

EP3Casas
12-26-2010, 10:22 PM
i hope you have money saved up for the machine shop to assemble it. if you do it yourself i hope you have money for the parts you break and for the machine shop to fix it.

motors are frustrating and overwhelming for the experienced at times and are guaranteed this for new comers.

danito321
12-27-2010, 12:35 AM
I would replace the rod bearings, piston rings and oil pump for sure. The water pump, oil pump and head components on the a3 wont do you any good for the a2. But without seeing the engine its hard to say, is it hammered or in good shape? And if your unsure of what you are doing it would be a good idea to have a machine shop put it all together for you.. or do alot of research.