PDA

View Full Version : k24a1 + jdm k20a valve train???????

i_love_my_ep3!
01-04-2011, 09:08 PM
i seen and heard of the a2 and z1 valve train has anyone droped in the the k20a valve train in a k24a1:mredface:

VIZHUNZ02SI
01-04-2011, 09:10 PM
what are you looking to do?

i_love_my_ep3!
01-04-2011, 09:20 PM
well i have a k24a1 just hanging out in my garage and i soon plan on having it in my ep3 real soon as of now i got that motor 33k on it 310 type s injectors,exedy organic clutch and act street lite fly, and a few bolt ons to add and kpro is comming soon well with all that said

i seen i member on dont remember who but has the a2 valve train and made some good numbers, i dont plan on making more than 300 and at least have tq over 200 want it to be a n/a and maybe a little shot of boost in a bottle:mcool:

this will be my first k build and want it to be my dd and last as long as possible and inputs or tips will be greatly help me out im new to this

i_love_my_ep3!
01-04-2011, 09:55 PM
no one has tip or inputs on this or is this just stupid questions

urthworm
01-04-2011, 10:23 PM
I believe the k20a and a2 valve train function the same... z1 and z3 should too. Are you planning on swapping the heads or dropping just the valve train in the k24a1 head.

USAF EP3
01-04-2011, 11:38 PM
I believe the k20a and a2 valve train function the same... z1 and z3 should too. Are you planning on swapping the heads or dropping just the valve train in the k24a1 head.

Negative. 02-04 (K20A2) Valvetrain use different retainers and keepers. Also, Honda was experimenting with using single valvesprings instead of dual, so not all K20A2 heads came with dual valvesprings. For example, mine had dual on the intake but single on the exhaust side and it was a 03 head. Also, K20Z1/3's all use single valvesprings and they are NOT interchangeable with the K20A2 setup. If you want to have K20A/Z valvetrain, you need to have matching parts.

i_love_my_ep3!
01-04-2011, 11:59 PM