PDA

View Full Version : Can I get some advice on 2002 honda civic si?

blazer
01-15-2011, 08:54 PM
Hello, this is my first post on here. I am looking to purchase a 2002 Honda Civic si with 102,000 miles on it? I cannot find a whole lot of information on the SI online and I am wondering how reliable of a car it is. I have read in different places online that the transmission on civic's was not good in the early 2000's but I can not find anything online. The 2002 honda civic si I am looking at is at a dealership and looks to be stock. I am a broke college student so I do not want to buy the car if I am going to need to put any money into repairs. My last car was a toyota tacoma and I literally only did oil changes for 4 years and it ran like a top. If I take it on a test drive tomorrow are there certain things to look for? Any advice would be extremely appreciated. I will keep checking this thread tonight, tomorrow morning I have to have my mind made up if I want to buy the car. Thank you.

R34L-St4tus
01-15-2011, 09:12 PM
Is it at a honda dealership or a third party? if its at a third party dealership and its got 102k on it i wouldn't get it. if your test driving it, i would suggest looking at how the car handles. meaning - 1.too bouncy, 2.pulls in a certain direction, 3.making clucking noise at lower speed, 4.idles crazy, 5.clutch to soft, 6.won't go into gear easy, 7.loud ticking noise. simple stuff like that. with the stuff i just explain it pretty expensive if those parts have to be replace.

1. shocks are blown - raceland coilover $308
2.alignment is wack - realignment $90
3.stuff aren't tight or you got more stuff to replace $$$
4.vac might be dirty - clean vac FREE
5.got air in the clutch line? - bleed clutch line FREE
6.clutch is shit after 90k - new clutch $200 - $500
7.axles needs repair - auto store retail price $30 - $100

hopes this help :)

Tougeep3
01-15-2011, 09:17 PM