PDA

View Full Version : Amplified Under-Seat Sub

logos22
01-26-2011, 01:08 AM
I'm looking to add a little bass to my stock sound system and thought this might be a good direction to go. I know these wont shake the cars next to me, but that's not what I'm looking for. I just want some decent sounding bass that wont take up a lot of room.

So far it's between these

Kenwood KSC-SW10, Clarion SRV313, Boss BASS600, and Sound Ordnance B-8pt (missing any?)

Which one is better? Would I need to buy a new head unit or will these plug into the stock unit? Since I'm new to audio, would a regular sized sub with external amp be a better use of money, even though I would be sacrificing trunk space? (again, I'm not out to set off car alarms with my stereo) Thanks for the input!

NEO_FOLLOWER2
01-29-2011, 08:09 PM
i also would like to know this info...BUMP

want to keep stock system and add a bit bass
money is tight and i dont want anything but a bit more bass anyways(stock system is good enough sounding)

(I have my friends old stock bose rsx-s sub anyway I can plug this into my stock ep3 system?)

Kerby
01-29-2011, 10:35 PM
what ive been thinking is a system basedon an ipod. they sell small amps for ipods to woofers/speakers. nice 8" sub is all u need. Our legacy has one from the factory and its more than plenty.

jonathan13
02-02-2011, 03:44 PM
I would go with the Clarion or Kenwood personally

si.hatch
02-02-2011, 06:00 PM
honestly you can pick up a headunit for less than 100 bucks that has far more tuning capabilitys as a stock unit does, the stock unit just kinda blows.

as far as a sub i think there wont be enough room under the seat, but a small enclosure for the side of the hatch area would prolli be your best best

he_li48
02-02-2011, 07:01 PM
Subaru has an oem subwoofer that goes under seat. Sorry don't know how it sounds. But if you got a buddy with an STI, go check it out. Ebay got them pretty cheap. And here is a link for pinout.