PDA

View Full Version : HEEEELP.... EPS problem....

obiDR
03-09-2011, 05:18 PM
whats going on guys... my name is obi and i recently joined the forum after i bought an 02 TW...

it suuuuuucks that my first post has to be because of a problem :mcry:

you guys should know im a total nooB when it comes to this generation of SI's....

so heres the problem.... I lost my electric steering... and the EPS light came on the dash...

the car was running perfect this morning... the only think i can think about is that, this morning when i came home... i was parking and forgot to put the car in neutral, left it in reverse and i let go of the clutch, so obviously the car stalled....

after that this afternoon i was about to head to school, and noticed that the steering was really stiff (i know thats what she said)... then i noticed i had the EPS light was on... after reading some pointers about the issue online, i disconnected the battery to do a reset and nothing, still have the same issue....

please help... you guys have any suggestions on what it could be???

ps. I installed a music system... so thats about the only mod that would affect the electric side of things.....

oh and when i bought the car i noticed a slight squeaking sound when i would turn the steering wheel, the guy who sold me the car said it was nothing.... only had to grease it up a bit.... idk if that meant something...

talonXracer
03-09-2011, 05:41 PM
Check the fuse for the EPS in the underhood fuse box.

The squeek in the steering rack is rather common, usually only appearing when lowered.

whatsvtec
03-09-2011, 07:00 PM
I've got the squeak at stock height :l

obiDR
03-10-2011, 04:14 PM