PDA

View Full Version : Shift knob removal

Postman158
03-13-2011, 04:43 PM
I'm at work on my ambulance... so I cant check on my car right now. But to remove my shifting knob, is it just a screw on? Also, will a new knob screw on and have to attach to my boot? Is it a pain or a simple "screw and play"?

Thanks in advance.

rolldogK20
03-13-2011, 10:07 PM
Just twist the boot right under the shift knob and unscrew the shift knob..

MBaG
03-13-2011, 10:45 PM
Yea, you might have to pull the rubber boot out of the bottom of the shift knob. Then you just twist it off.

You're an EMT?

Postman158
03-14-2011, 02:16 PM
Ahh i'll give that a shot. Will most new shift knobs just screw on? Do I have to look for a certain thread size, or are they for the most part universal? And yessir, I'm an EMT. I'm on the ambulance again right now.. haha. I spend most my time on the forum while on the ambulance not running calls. We know where to go to leech wifi off all the local spots haha :)

jgn6848
03-14-2011, 05:04 PM
here you go... hope this kinda helps

http://forums.clubep3.com/showthread.php?t=755372

its a shifter bushing install but it shows the process of removing shint knob

ace of spades
03-15-2011, 08:12 AM
Ahh i'll give that a shot. Will most new shift knobs just screw on? Do I have to look for a certain thread size, or are they for the most part universal? And yessir, I'm an EMT. I'm on the ambulance again right now.. haha. I spend most my time on the forum while on the ambulance not running calls. We know where to go to leech wifi off all the local spots haha :)
EP3 uses a M10 x 1.5 thread size. most of the time you can say/ask for a Honda specific shift knob.

here you go... hope this kinda helps

http://forums.clubep3.com/showthread.php?t=755372

its a shifter bushing install but it shows the process of removing shint knob

thanks for the link. I posted the same DIY here a little bit ago, but someone probably deleted it.