PDA

View Full Version : type-s vtc gear in k24a2 ?

i11 b3havior
06-29-2011, 05:50 AM
i know we have touched this topic before but does anybody have any experience on this site with this set-up ? i have talked to tuners and other people who have done this with no issues, hondata even states there should be no issues unless missshifting or over reving which i have been driving manual vehicles for over 13 yrs. now been to the track countless times in numerous different vehicles and have never done either. plus you can set the max. cam angle to 45 degrees anyways ? my point is i know $120.00 to get it machined isn't a great deal of money to spend when your talking about the safety of your motor but i literally have this type-s gear just sitting in my desk right now and have wanted to put it in for weeks now. any REAL info on this will be greatly appreciated.

edit -- i have a 06 k24a2 incase you didnt already know

Ba82Ep3
06-29-2011, 06:00 AM
Sure you can drop it in and set KPro to advance no further than 45 degrees... but the physical stop is the only guarantee you wont go any further. I've seen people say they have done it and had no issues... and others that say they lost engines because of it. I think a lot of it is varying tolerances (head milling/which head gasket used), inattentive tuning (valve lash too tight), improper assembly, or just piss poor driving.

In my opinion, you need to take everyones set in stone opinion with a grain of salt, treat your engine as an individual and fork out the 120$. Its a he'll of a lot cheaper than a new head...

bchaney
06-29-2011, 08:54 AM
I would either clay the motor at 50deg and make a decision based on clearances or just get the TSX VTC machined to 45deg.

AttarixEp
07-01-2011, 06:55 PM