PDA

View Full Version : Transmission for K24A2...questions

ryboto
10-14-2011, 02:16 PM
So, eventually, I'm going to swap in a K24A2. I'd planned on getting a z3 6-speed, but I've got questions...
Should I buy the whole transmission and modify it to fit?
Is there somewhere I can buy the internals for cheaper than buying the entire transmission?
What else should get replaced?(I'm a novice when it comes to engine/transmission replacement. Flywheel? Clutch? Mechanical Reverse lockout? I dunno?)

AKEP
10-14-2011, 04:25 PM
buy the guts if you're up to opening the transmission. i dont feel like typing, but you'll get 6spd and lsd out of it and wont have to buy a speedo converter thingy to make it work. i tihnk you still just need the speedo ring from the ep to make it work. i think unless you have a serious set of tools to bring to a junkyard, your going to have to buy the whole transmission.

fyi you don't need to modify anything to make the z3/z1 transmission fit, the only difference is the z3/z1 use a speed sensor on the countershaft instead of the final drive. the signal comes out different than the a2/a3 transmissions, therefore. you won't be able to just plug it in and forget it though, you need a speed sensor converter box for it to function correctly. you also need wire harness where a 6spd transmission was used (type-s basically) for reverse lockout to work

bchaney
10-15-2011, 07:03 AM
Yea, I would just swap the z3 internals into your ep3 case. You may be able to find the internals cheaper in a forum classified but prob not. Plus you might need some of the shaft bearings that are usually left in the case.

Get a clutch kit that includes new clutch, pressure plate, and throwout bearing. You'll want a k20a2 flywheel because more clutches are made for it - these are easily found in the classifieds on k20a.org. Resurface it and put a washer under the throwout pivot stud - talonxracer has a thread in this forum that will illustrate what I mean.

bchaney