PDA

View Full Version : New member, question about my k24a2

c0kefree
10-27-2011, 06:23 AM
Hey guys, what's up? I'd hate to make my first thread a question, but i'm honestly confused. Just recently bought a 02 ep3 with a k24a2 in it (pics later, she's cute :-)), what a step up from my db7!

Anyways, about 3 days ago (after owning the car for about two weeks) my check engine light came on while i was cruising on the highway, I pulled over and read the code, it's a P0325 (knock sensor circuit malfunction.) My question is: this NEVER comes on while cruising in town, and it always shuts off (when i turn the key off) until i'm back on the highway again.
I hear no audible engine knock what-so-ever, and i don't really notice any sluggish feeling on the highway. But than again i'm very new to this car. I made the mistake of putting regular in the car the first week, but i've since changed to premium (even trying octane booster) to rid me of this orange light of doom, but the effort was futile. Could this sensor be plain and simply going bad (that doesn't happen too often from my understanding)? Or should i bring the car in to my tuner to try and figure out if it's detonating? I'd love to avoid taking the intake manifold off to get to the sensor, but if this is a serious problem, i couldn't care less about doing it.

I've heard such things as knock sensors going "soft" and "ghost" knocks, so i'll try to address any reason for the ghost knock... it's a k24a2 (obv kpro'd) with avid racing solid motor mounts, dc headers, generic intake and 2.5 inch generic exhaust, i'm not aware of the type of knock sensor in the motor, weather it be a stock ep3 or the tsx. Motor has 25k give or take on it.

Cliffs for you lazy people:
- threw a p0325 code on the highway (knock sensor circuit malfunction)
- only comes on while cruising on the highway
- shuts off when i turn the car off and doesn't return until on the highway again.
- no audible engine knock
- no hesitation