PDA

View Full Version : Help me figure this out!

theMan_ny
12-19-2011, 06:58 PM
So yesterday after leaving a meet i started to hear a noise coming from the front passenger side (I think) So I pulled over to check and see if something was dragging from underneath nothing there. I checked the oil real quick and it was fine. So I decided to keep going on the freeway.. The car started smelling really funny. Like if something was burning. The noise can only be heard when I press on the gas. IDK what it could be. Im a complete noob.. I recorded the sound with my phone...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nb7Y-P0gNBc&feature=youtu.be

AttarixEp
12-19-2011, 07:07 PM
Possibly vacuum leak? Hard to hear even with headphone in. Hard throttle? Light throttle? Both?

theMan_ny
12-19-2011, 07:11 PM
If I'm just crusing, I don't hear anything. Once I press the gas a little more then its when I start to hear it. So I'm guessing med-hard throttle? When the car isn't moving and I press the gas, the noise isn't there..

AttarixEp
12-19-2011, 07:29 PM
Sounds like a vac leak. And a pretty good one at that. Check for loose/cracked hoses or gasket failures

theMan_ny
12-19-2011, 08:04 PM
Will do. Thanks. Can I still drive the car? It's my only car and I won't be able to look at it until possibly thursday at the lastest..

AttarixEp
12-19-2011, 08:08 PM
Yea you can drive it. Wont be any worse than half the cars being driven around every day. If you were to WOT the car, it would probably start to misfire if bad enough.

theMan_ny
12-19-2011, 08:13 PM
WOT as in floor it? I'll make sure that I don't. Thanks a lot, man. Ill try to get this solved as soon as tomorrow if I have time.

AKEP
12-20-2011, 07:01 AM
does it idle high? that would be a tell tale sign of vac leak. i can't hear anything in the video. sounds like a dragging noise? i'd check the idle pulley. look to see if the bolt is centered in relation to the edges of the pulley and look for metal shavings.

theMan_ny
12-20-2011, 10:55 AM